Ben Kono Group Premiere of "Voyages" - Greenwich House Ben Kono Group Premiere of "Voyages" - Greenwich House
skip to main content
Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Ben Kono Group Premiere of “Voyages”

Event Navigation

Since moving to New York City in 1999, woodwind specialist, saxophonist and composer Ben Kono has been attracting attention as a singular emerging voice in cutting-edge groups like Darcy James Argue’s Secret Society, the John Hollenbeck Large Ensemble and the Ed Palermo Big Band. With the release of his critically acclaimed recordings CROSSING and DON’T BLINK, he has come into his own light as a leader and composer of note.

The Ben Kono Group presents a new work commissioned by the 2018 Chamber Music America New Jazz Works Grant, funded by the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation entitled “Voyages”. The suite features his long-standing quintet joined by a stellar string quartet in an extended jazz composition inspired by the writings of his grandfather, Rev.Juhei Caleb Kono, who immigrated to the U.S. during a turbulent time for Asian Americans in this country.

Featured in this performance are:

Ben Kono, woodwinds

Pete McCann, guitar

Mike Holober, piano

Matt Clohesy, bass

Jared Schonig, drums

Sara Caswell, violin

Meg Okura, violin

Lois Martin, viola

Jody Redhage Ferber, cello

Tickets are $15 /$10 for students and seniors, can be purchased at the door or in advance

« All Events

Support Greenwich House this Holiday Season!

Greenwich House programs have reached 60,000 New Yorkers in need since the pandemic began. Help us do even more in the year ahead!